Roastbeef’s Promise


* Frantic Phoner!
March 4, 2009, 6:22 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Lately my publicist has been getting lots of radio phone-in interviews for me to talk about “Roastbeef” with radio stations around the country. Most of the interviews take place during morning drive-time which means that when I’m talking to the East Coast or Midwest, I’m getting up very early in California. I’ve never been much of a morning person, which makes it extra difficult to be funny, witty, and chipper.
My alarm goes off around 5am, I make some coffee and take a quick walk around the block to get some fresh air and my blood moving, and then get on the phone. I call the radio station and they put me on hold for a couple minutes and then all of a sudden – wham!
“Heyyy, Heyyy!!! It’s Johnny & Jimmy in the morning!”
The party is instantly on with Cleveland’s wacky, high-energy morning team, so I need to immediately raise my energy level from 0 to 100 miles per hour, telling stories,laughing, back-and-fourth, give-and-take, and then 8 minutes later it’s all over and I hang up. My house is dark and quiet and now I’m completely wired like I did a beer bong full of Red Bull!
I need to go back to bed for a couple more hours of shut-eye, but that’s not going to happen in my “amped” condition, so I take another walk around the block to try and cool down. Suddenly I have a better understanding of why Elvis got addicted to uppers and downers, and a strong desire for a fried peanut butter and banana sandwich.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

HA! no one said fame was easy…

Comment by brianprince




Leave a Reply

